Writing By Hand

I didn’t have my computer at the cafe last night, so I wrote…..by hand, with my best pen in my worn spiral notebook….

It felt good.

FYI excluding a few cross-outs its a really good way to not self edit (which I suffer from…badly) You can’t really go back and erase…you’ve got to keep moving.

4 comments on “Writing By Hand

  1. Neeks says:

    LOL not me, I cross out, line-through, circle paragraphs and put arrows pointing to move this here after that, etc.
    I only write on paper when the power is out and I can’t use the laptop. The last time that happened I ended up with the worst write)r’s cramp! There is certainly something to be said for writing it out longhand though – it’s kind of like taking a road trip after flying for years. You see so many things along the way that you would have missed if you had flown over.

    • Natasha says:

      Ha! That’s funny. You see, I’m a little spastic when I start handwriting. I hate making messes on the sheet. If it looks and feels messy to me I end up ripping the page out and re-writing the changes on a clean sheet of paper. Thus it takes me forever to get through a page of writing if I’m constantly going back and changing…. LOL! Im prepping for National Novel Writing Month so i have to use the PC otherwise Im in trouble. But it’s good to know I’m not alone!!

      Thank you for visiting my page!

  2. R. H. Culp says:

    I love writing by hand. It helps me avoid the self-editing as I go and something about the slower pace of it helps my flow (I think). I write all my short stories by hand first, I’m just lazy to do longer works that way because I hate typing up completed drafts.

    • Natasha says:

      Me too! Although I don’t hand write often …it’s really a matter of patience with me, but it really stops me from self editing of which I have such a problem with. Transcribing.. not fun! Although I think there are computer programs that can take what you have written and self transcribe it (once you scan it in of course!! ) But then there are also voice transcription programs…you can read what you have written and it types it up for you… YUP!!! Using my computer is the way for me, especially with NANO coming up! LOL!
      Thanks for your comment!.

Leave a Reply

