Its Amazing How a Song Can Resonate Truth To a Complete Stranger

 ‘Pale September’ -By: Fiona Apple

Pale September, I wore the time like a dress that year
The autumn days swung soft around me, like cotton on my skin
But as the embers of the summer lost their breath and disappeared
My heart went cold and only hollow rhythms resounded from within
But then he rose, brilliant as the moon in full
And sank in the burrows of my keep

And all my armour falling down, in a pile at my feet
And my winter giving way to warm, as I’m singing him to sleep

He goes along just as a water lily
Gentle on the surface of his thoughts his body floats
Unweighted down by passion or intensity

Yet unaware of the depth upon which he coasts
And he finds a home in me
For what misfortune sows, he knows my touch will reap

And all my armour failing down, in a pile at my feet
And my winter giving way to warm, as I’m singing him to sleep
– – – – – – – –
All my armour falling down, in a pile at my feet
And my winter giving way to warm, as I’m singing him to sleep

All my armour falling down, in a pile at my feet
And my winter giving way to warm, as I’m singing him to sleep

6 comments on “Its Amazing How a Song Can Resonate Truth To a Complete Stranger

  1. Natalie says:

    Wow. This song is amazing, thanks for sharing it! Fiona Apple has such a lovely voice.

    • Natasha says:

      Thanks Natalie!! I adore this song….really her entire ‘Tidal’ Album; it was not only great in music composition but her lyrics to me are poetry. I WISH I wrote this good.

      Thanks for visiting the site!!!

  2. Natalie says:

    They are poetry! And of course, I’ve subscribed to your blog. I’ve been enjoying each post, even though I haven’t been commenting on them except this.

    • Natasha says:

      Hey!! Thanks… it can feel lonely out there writing.
      Totally agree about her lyrics. One of her songs from the same album ‘Slow Like Honey’ every time I hear it I can visually see what she is saying… very dream like. This is the part:

      ‘So I stretch myself across, like a bridge
      And I pull you to the edge
      And stand there waiting
      Trying to attain
      The end to satisfy the story’

      Yup, I have to say I love her stuff, but then I’m a bit of a music junkie LOL! Natalie thanks for visiting my site I’m glad you enjoy it 🙂

  3. I LOVE this song, the whole album really!! Amazing lyrics!!

    • Natasha says:

      Hi!! Thanks for coming to my neck of the woods.. You are right the entire album is real poetry. I miss her even her weirdness.
      I went back to your blog and read your posts…great writing! I read on your post your are a dispatcher and married to PO. My novel is actually about a Police officer 23 years on the force. Grateful you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

