I’m Not Quite a Loser

WHAT 38,344 WORDS LOOKS AND FEELS LIKE……

November 30, 2011- I didn’t even leave my desk at work because the ½ hour commute home meant I would lose more than 1,000 words in my writing. But by this point I knew I wouldn’t make the full 50,000, and honestly, it didn’t matter. What mattered was finishing and trying my best to the very end. I did just that.

Corny as it may sound….. I feel like a winner, kind of. I won’t lie as my phone alarm went off 11:59 November 30th I did feel like a loser- a big one.

But just as a fellow NaNoWriMo writing buddy said “Get as many words in as you can, especially in the beginning because life happens”. She wasn’t kidding. My ‘Life’ happening came in the form loosing a close family member 1 week before the Thanksgiving holiday. My 1,699 word per day goal was the last thing on my mind; my small world was temporarily turned upside down.

Breaking through the loss, I returned a few days before 30th determined to write until my fingers dropped. In the end I achieved something that may be small in some eyes but great in mine. I flexed a muscle I didn’t realize I had.

  • I didn’t go back to edit, edit again and re-edit the sentence I just wrote, thus wasting time and getting side tracked.
  • I didn’t stop and spend an entire day looking up a name for a character because it needed meaning in that very moment.
  • I didn’t spend hours and days researching the police radio codes for dispatching an officer to a crime scene.
  • I wrote even when I didn’t want to write.
  • I wrote when the small voice inside me said my story will never be seen or heard…I wrote.

In the end I pushed through. I made due with the temporary names, the fake dispatching codes. I made due and in return I have a story.

I’ve read countless blogs on winning and losing to National Novel Writing Month. Each an inspirational tale of late nights, blue computer screens, constant word count updates, music playlists, outlining gone wrong, story lines changed or chucked all together. I even ran into a site that blasted National Novel Writing Month. Calling it out as a dangerous community of ‘Charlie Nobodies” calling themselves authors.

For me it was one of the best things I’ve done for my novel. As I said it wasn’t a loss at all. I learned, I met great people along the way and above all I wrote. Now I need to continue….

THE BEST OF MY NANO EXPERIENCE

Some of the Best Writing buddies

@JayrodPG
@so_she_writes
@KateSpencer2go
@lumos_nox_
@raineerose
@MiykieQ
@ParentheticaLex

Best Online Writing Tool (Kicks your ass to just write)
Write or Die: http://writeordie.com/#Web+App

Best Post NaNoWriMo Blog
http://blog.deannaknippling.com/?p=3687#.TtVF_9Vksn8.twitter

Best Post NaNoWriMo Image
From @JasonRunnels http://pic.twitter.com/gWwJjNi7

9 comments on “I’m Not Quite a Loser

  1. AngelaMarie says:

    How awesome for you! I’m inspired! Thanks for sharing your experience!

  2. Hi Natasha,
    I agree with you about the NaNoWriMo experience. It was totally about the community and not at all about whether you ‘won’ or ‘lost’. You clearly won and it got you to write despite the circumstances.

    I love your picture! I haven’t printed mine out yet like I promised myself I would at the end, because I’m still going. Good to have connected with you. And thanks for the plug 🙂
    Happy Writing!

    • Natasha says:

      Thanks Jason!!! You are right, it just takes some reminding. You should totally print it out…Weird but it feels good to just hold it LOL!!
      Yes! Great to have connected your pic is great, makes me laugh every time I look at it.

  3. reathomas says:

    Natasha, I came by to check out your blog after your comment on mine and I LOVE this post! I cannot tell you how much I relate to the whole notion of spending hours looking for a name or researching tiny details that no one really cares about! Excellent post that made me smile!

    I’m following you!

    Are you on Twitter?

    Much love,
    Rea x

    • Natasha says:

      Hi Rea!!

      Thanks for visiting my site. I know exactly what you mean. I’m awful at the details which feels important to me, but then it becomes this thing that if i don’t address I use it as an excuse to not write. Nice to know I’m not alone.

      Yes! You can find me on twitter @GirlWriter

      Thanks for the follow!!

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    1699 words a day is a big target, I feel. I am not sure I could do it and I admire you & anyone who tried. I did curiously read about NaNoWriMo but I didn’t want to divert from what I was on. I think it’s a terrific idea. You must have done HEAPS & now have heaps to work with, to bring it into the shape of a book. Excellent work & good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

