1:20 am -When Music Mirrors Your Story

Every once in a while a really great song will play from one of my Pandora stations, and when it does it triggers me to stop what I’m doing, close my eyes and listen. This doesn’t happen often. Most times the music I listen to becomes white noise as I write, but when a good one streams in, I ride the wave of the song and carefully listen  to the lyrics. Both the sound and words create a scene, a feeling and an emotion, a lot like a story.

Tonight, when this  particular song came up it reminded me of my protagonist and the internal struggle they are going through. Whenever this happens, music mirroring an aspect of my story, it feels really good. It reinforces that I just may be  capturing an idea, a feeling or an emotion in a way that is universal to a reader or group of readers that may also connect with the story I am creating…. at least that’s my hope.

Its a great song by funk and soul singer. It originally came out in 2001. I hope you enjoy  it.

‘Push & Pull’  -Nikka Costa

Mr. Nothing’s got a lot
He’s got a lot to say
He’s good at being what he’s not
Gives nothing away
Another day goes on by
And he never speaks his heart
He takes his chance with what he’s got
It’s too late now to stop

You push and you pull and struggle with the knot
It’s tying you up while you’re fadin’
You give and you take and take what you got
Round and round ’till it breaks and
You push and you pull and struggle with the knot
It’s tying you up while you’re fadin’ into your lie

Mr. Nothing is late
He’s running out of time
He questions whether chance or fate will ever show a sign
Looks to the sky above
For a glimpse of what it means
And never never never make
Make no sense to him

You push and you pull and struggle with the knot
It’s tying you up while you’re fadin’
You give and you take and take what you got
Round and round ’till it breaks and
You push and you pull and struggle with the knot
It’s tying you up while you’re fadin’ into your lie

You push and you pull it

17 comments on “1:20 am -When Music Mirrors Your Story

  1. TheOthers1 says:

    I have to go download that song now. Your character sounds interesting when if I’m reading the context of the song correctly. There must be some serious internal struggle going on there. That usually means the character goes through a significant struggle and the end result is a lot of growth. Is this from the novel you posted a snippet of a bit ago? Good luck on your writing. 🙂

    • Natasha says:

      Yeah I totally love Nikka Costa. This song came out on her album ‘Everybody Got Their Something’ It was her biggest album. I think you would like a lot of the songs on it (Youtube it)
      Yes it is the very same character. A lot of struggling. Like you said, its a good thing.Your main character needs to show growth. Thanks for listening to the song 🙂

  2. maidrya says:

    Great song! I wasn’t familiar with Nikka Costa – will stay on the lookout now. The push-pull Mr. Nothing’s going through sounds like it would make a very compelling character. Personally, I’ve struggled with a few knots!

  3. Natasha says:

    Hi Maidrya! Yes, she’s great.. although I haven’t heard a lot from her lately. I hope people find my character compelling 🙂
    Agreed.. I think we’ve all had.. I personally have HUGE KNOTS!

    Thanks for visiting my page!!

  4. I’m finding the same thing… Gay Pirates by Cosmo Jarvis has become a bit on an anthem for one of my characters, and there are a few other songs that when imagining my novel the characters all go a little “Glee” on me (not that I am a fan, I just couldn’t think of a better analogy).

    • Natasha says:

      Cosmo Jarvis! Ha I had to look him up… Oh man that video is funny!!!! I can totally get a vision of what you mean when you say Glee LOL!!
      Thanks Audrey for coming to my site!!

    • Eden says:

      Ooh! What a great song, Audrey! I loved the video, but the song says a lot with its humor. Thanks for posting.

      (Oh, and thanks, Natasha, for posting about music. I’m starting to notice that ROWers get on themes unconsciously: Prudence McLeod posted about an amazing guitarist, you had Nikki’s song, even I was quoting songs this week… Hmm… now there is a good plot device for a book about the ROW80.)

      • Natasha says:

        Hi Eden! Thanks … I find that sometimes the lyrics ring so true with what’s going on with a particular character or story line for that matter…I get that feeling also when I watch a particular movie or book that I may read..

        I believe the reason for this may be that most artistic forms of expression, be it poetry, song, dance, story or picture often speaks about the human condition. With that are commonalities we all go through: pain, loss, love, hate etc. I think we are bound to find things in common with each other; so that when we tell our stories we are reflecting the same things we all go through throughout our lives… Even if the your story takes place on Mars and all the main characters are shaped like orange eggs LOL!! we tend to humanize their experience … But I could be guessing here! LOL!

        * Sorry I’ve got to catch up with you. I totally changed my writing, sleeping and gym schedule so I’ve been out of wak.. 🙂

      • Eden says:

        You too? I’m always catching bits of synergy in things I read, listen to, write… overhear in the coffee shops. (looks sheepish…)

        I think we have to humanize the alien we observe. It’s the only way we can accept it. Otherwise, our very nature forces us to mistrust and try to destroy it… 😦

        Orange eggs? You already “humanized” them… You say they look like “eggs” (to them they look like Grucshtagh and are only ebflu colored because our eyes can’t perceive the ultra-violent spectrum correctly! 😉 )

        And don’t worry about catching up. Life’s been busy here. And will be hectic until Monday… Just glad to know things are okay with you. Hope the new schedule is more invigorating for you.

  5. Oh you introduced me to a new artist – cheers! And I can’t listen to lyrics while writing, generally. Although, listening to music is great for inspiration, making notes, coming up with ideas. But while actually writing I prefer classical. It deals with the spectrum of emotions, wordlessly 🙂 X

    • Natasha says:

      I adore classical. I’m a a big Yann Tiersen, Michael Nyman and Phillip Glass fan. I’m a mix nut of sorts when it comes to music.. depending on my mood when I write and the feeling I try to convey when writing a particular scene I will conjure up a genera of music.
      Thanks Shah for coming by my site!!

  6. Hi, Natasha! I just gave you a Kreativ Blogger Award. You can find the details here: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-De

  7. Great post. A Hawaiian song, Seabird in the Wind, seemed to capture the essence ofone my character’s journey.

    • Natasha says:

      Hi Naomi!
      Thanks for the comment. I listened to the song from Olomana… its GREAT! Such a great feeling to hear a song the expresses what you are trying to explain in your writing.

      • Hi Natasha, that was very sweet of you to look up the song. The first stories I ever told were the ones I could sing, and I think the music touches us at a visceral level. I hadn’t thought much about it, or at least I didn’t think other people thought about it too.

        I appreciate your following my blog, and I am looking forward to following yours; I have a feeling you will jog other dim thoughts that are rattling around in my brain!

Leave a Reply

